The Oatmeal Cookie Experiment

Standard

Often times I do experiments in the kitchen and do not write down the recipe.  The experiment turns out very tasty and my husband always asks “Do you remember what is in it?”  of course I remember, just not exact amounts.  I have had many friends over the years ask for different recipes of mine and actually get upset with me when I tell them that there isn’t a recipe, it was all just in my head…they will sometimes look at me like I am lying and with a stunned tone say “You didn’t use a recipe?”  Answer to that:  majority of the time I do not use recipes, I wing it.  For years I have collected and read cookbooks and find recipes to be a basic guideline, something you can tweak and make into what you want it to be, make better in a way.

Recently I have started to work on living and eating healthier, a whole lifestyle change if you will, that was strongly encouraged to happen due to a knee injury.  From adding in more fruits & veggies, cutting out the majority of red meat, eating more fish, drinking more water and of course getting off my rump and exercising, I have found that the lifestyle change is agreeing with me very well.  I think that the difference between a “diet” and a lifestyle change is that the majority of “diets” fail in the long run…and so with that I  can say that I am not on a diet of any sort.  Yes, I pay attention to what I eat and journal it.  Yes, I have cut out majority of processed foods, sugars and caffeine, but those were all my choice.

We all have cravings.  Some people crave salty, others sweet, mine matters on the day I guess.  With cravings comes the ability to make healthy choices.  Every now and then I crave cake or cookies and so I have made cake and cookies and changed many of the ingredients to help make them healthier.  Of course they are still not “good” for you, but in moderation they are sure still 100% better for you than the processed/packaged crap you buy from the store.

Okay, fast forward to this evening and the oatmeal cookie craving.  As soon as the craving hit I knew that I could make an oatmeal cookie that tasted good and was not loaded with fat.  Upon walking into my kitchen the wheels of ideas were turning in my brain and a little flag was raised in the back part of my brain that said “Please write this one down” so I did.  I mixed everything in one bowl, no sense making a huge mess.  Starting with wet ingredients then adding in dry.  The order that the recipe is written is exactly how I mixed it.

 

Oatmeal Cookie Experiment Recipe

2 large eggs

1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract

1/2 tsp sea salt

1/2 cup no-sugar added natural apple sauce

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp roasted Saigon cinnamon (any cinnamon will work)

1 tsp baking soda

1/8 tsp cayenne pepper

1/3 cup packed brown sugar (yes, I had to add some sugar)

1/3 cup whole wheat flour

1/3 cup unbleached white flour

1 2/3 cups quick oats

1 oz semi sweet bakers chocolate shaved

Combine and mix all ingredients in a bowl using a spoon.  Oven pre-heated to 375 degrees.  Line cookie sheet with parchment paper and drop dough by teaspoon full onto cookie sheet.  Make sure to keep cookies about 1.5 inches apart so that they can bake evenly.  Bake for 7-9 minutes (depending on the size of your cookies).  When cookies are lightly golden brown remove from oven and place on cooling rack.  Recipe makes about 2 dozen cookies (again, depends on how big or small you make the cookies).  Cookies are lightly sweet and will fill the oatmeal cookie craving, they also go wonderful with a glass of Silk (or regular milk I would guess).

 

This is how my finished product turned out.  Very tasty and somewhat guilt free 🙂  Hope you enjoy!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

