Silken Chocolate Cupcakes

Standard

Silken Chocolate Cupcakes fresh out of the oven.

On Sunday nights we often times find ourselves watching Cupcake Wars on Food Network (depending on the television programming season of course), and almost every Sunday night I end up craving sweets.  As many of you already know these cravings have lead to me trying to make “healthier” versions of some of my favorite sweet treats.  Tonight, I found myself in the same situation and the challenge I posed to myself:  Make a healthy chocolate cupcake…heck, it doesn’t even need to be chocolate, just a healthy cupcake (or healthier cupcake).  Looking through my fridge and cupboards I found a variety of ingredients that just might work, now to start experimenting.  Fast forward:  batter is a good consistency, batter tastes pretty good, bake, taste test while still hot (and force my husband to also)…yumtastic!  Time to share my experiment and hope that those who are brave enough to try it feel the same.

Silken Chocolate Cupcakes

1 lb silken tofu

1/2 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp rum extract

1/2 cup cocoa

1 cup honey

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

dash of sea salt

1 cup unbleached white flour

With hand mixer combine silken tofu, vanilla, rum extract, cocoa, honey, baking soda, baking powder and salt.  Once fully mixed add in flour and beat until smooth and silky.  Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.  Place batter into prepared cupcake pans (due to not using any oil in this recipe trying to cook with cupcake papers can be a challenge as the cupcakes stick to the papers), only filling each cupcake tin about 1/2 to 2/3 full.  Bake for 25-28 minutes.  Cupcakes will be very moist, but will not leave a residue on toothpick when fully cooked.  Makes 18 cupcakes.

Once cupcakes are fully cooked, carefully take them out of cupcake tins and place on cooling rack.  Please note:  they are VERY HOT and you want to be careful as not to burn yourself.

 

Inside view of Silken Chocolate Cupcake fresh out of the oven.

If you wanted to you could top your Silken Chocolate Cupcakes with the frosting of your choice, I personally am not a fan of frosting, so we enjoyed ours plan…for the most part.

I made 12 plain Silken Chocolate Cupcakes and then the wheels in my mind started turning and I started wondering if it would be possible to make such a yummy treat even tastier.  The answer:  YES!!!  I didn’t take any measurements, but it isn’t something that someone could mess up very much, so I took a large spoon and scooped out an nice size portion of peanut butter (I would guess about 3.5 tbsp) and placed it in a small bowl.  I then added some honey to peanut butter (1 tbsp or thereabouts) and mixed them together.  Taking my prepared cupcake pans I added about 1/3 of the amount of cupcake batter that I did earlier for the plain cupcakes.  I then tapped the pan on the counter to make sure all of the batter was evenly/flatly on the bottom of each tin.  Taking small scoops, maybe 1/2-3/4 of a teaspoon size of my peanut butter/honey mixture, I plopped that on top of my cupcake batter (trying to keep it somewhat centered).  I then added more cupcake batter to each tin making sure that the peanut butter/honey filling was completely covered.  These were baked exactly the same and for the same amount of time as the plain Silken Chocolate Cupcakes and once they came out of the oven I followed the same cooling techniques.  If you are as impatient as I am you will HAVE to try one of the Peanut Butter Surprise Silken Chocolate Cupcakes immediately–please be warned:  THEY ARE VERY HOT and the filling stays VERY HOT for quite some time.  The fun part of adding the peanut butter filling is that you get the almost a peanut butter cup experience 🙂

Peanut Butter Surprise Silken Chocolate Cupcakes...inside view.

Another inside view of the Peanut Butter Surprise Silken Chocolate Cupcake. Can you smell it??

Hope you enjoy and would love to hear your thoughts on my cupcake experiment(s).

 

THE FOLLOWING IS THE NUTRITIONAL BREAKDOWN OF THE SILKEN CHOCOLATE CUPCAKES…OVERALL NOT TOO BAD FOR A CUPCAKE 🙂

Nutrition Facts
Serving Size 54 g
Amount Per Serving
Calories

104
Calories from Fat

10
% Daily Value*
Total Fat

1.1g
2%
Cholesterol

0mg
0%
Sodium

94mg
4%
Total Carbohydrates

22.9g
8%
Dietary Fiber

1.0g
4%
Sugars

15.9g
Protein

3.0g
Vitamin A   0% Vitamin C 0%
Calcium 3% Iron 6%
* Based on a 2000 calorie diet

Nutritional Analysis

Good points
Bad points
5 responses »

    • What kind of muffins did you make?
      Yesterday was a baking/cooking day for me…made focaccia bread in the morning, then homemade kale/spinach/almond/basil pesto that I put over fresh spinach noodles, and after all of that I ended up with cupcakes 🙂 I find that cooking & baking helps reduce my stress levels…and now looking back over yesterday I realized I must have been stressed…lol.

      • mmm…everything you made sounds so good! i made banana, currant and walnut muffins, partly to have as a snack or breakfast during the week, but mainly to use up some ripe bananas. i sometimes bake to relieve stress, but sometimes baking causes me stress, especially if it’s a new recipe. 🙂

  1. Gosh, everything you make sounds fantastic! Love chocolate cupcakes, and healthy on top of it 😉 can’t beat that!

Leave a Reply

