Pancakes with Flax, Agave Nectar and Greek Yogurt

Standard

Pancakes have been a long time favorite of mine and a longtime foe of mine.  I could be called “pancake-picky” because of being very specific in what I do and do not like in/about pancakes.  My two biggest issues that I have had throughout my life with pancakes:  #1.  Bad aftertaste There is a large chain restaurant that starts with a P and rhymes with berkins that has some of the worst pancakes of all time when it comes to leaving a horrible aftertaste…yes, they taste great as you are eating them, but the aftermath on my taste buds isn’t worth it.  #2.  Greasy edges  When people cook their pancakes in too much oil and get that greasy crunchy edge.  Any time I get served one of these pancakes I spend the first part of my eating experience picking off the greasy edge and throwing it away…what a waste of what could be perfectly good pancake.  I have actually gotten to the point that if we plan on going out for breakfast I don’t even order pancakes because I don’t want to be disappointed.  I have also tried many pre-made at home boxed pancake mixes, some much better than others, but I still find myself confused when I read the ingredients and can’t pronounce some of them…heck, if I can’t pronounce them that means there is a very good chance that I have no clue what they are.  This morning I decided that we needed pancakes that were homemade, good for us (or at least much better than the boxed mix),  and full of wonderful healthy ingredients that we know what they are and can pronounce…so here is what I came up with 🙂

 

Pancakes with Flax, Agave Nectar and Greek Yogurt

 

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup unbleached white flour

1/4 cup toasted wheat germ

1/4 cup milled golden flaxseed

1/2 tsp sea salt

1 1/2 tsp baking powser

1/2 tsp baking soda

 

Combine all dry ingredients together in a large mixing bowl.

 

1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt

1/4 cup organic agave nectar

2 eggs

1 tbsp olive oil

1 1/2 cups Silk

 

Combine all wet ingredients together in smaller mixing bowl.

Mix wet ingredients into dry ingredients and let mixture rest for 5 minutes before cooking.  Batter is thick, so if you wanted you could add a tiny bit more Silk to loosen it up some.  Recipe made 9 nice sized pancakes.  I have always prefered to cook my pancakes at about 360 degrees.

 

 

Nutrition Facts
Serving Size 97 g
Amount Per Serving
Calories

172
Calories from Fat

39
% Daily Value*
Total Fat

4.3g
7%
Saturated Fat

0.6g
3%
TransFat

0.0g
Cholesterol

41mg
14%
Sodium

215mg
9%
Total Carbohydrates

27.6g
9%
Dietary Fiber

2.6g
10%
Sugars

8.4g
Protein

6.7g
Vitamin A   3% Vitamin C 0%
Calcium 11% Iron 10%
Nutrition Grade B+
* Based on a 2000 calorie diet

Nutritional Analysis

Good points

 

Leave a Reply

