The Other Half Pasta Sauce

Standard

The day before yesterday I posted “Ravioli Filling with Sausage, Mushrooms, Spinach and More!” (https://roxannesrandoms.wordpress.com/2012/04/16/ravioli-filling-with-sausage-mushrooms-spinach-and-more/)  and if you read it you know that I had half of the meat mixture leftover that I planned on making pasta sauce with…well, my plan developed today for supper.  I didn’t do any measurements, but it is very simple, so measurements aren’t really needed.

I took my leftover meat mixture and placed it over medium-low heat.  I added a 14.5 ounce can of diced tomatoes, a 6 ounce can of tomato paste and 6 ounces of water and stirred everything together.  Next it was time to add some seasonings.  I added sea salt, crushed red pepper, fresh ground black pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, oregano, basil, chives, parsley, paprika, sage and thyme.  I bumped the heat down to low and let the flavors develop for about 20 minutes, making sure to stir now and then.  Once my pasta was close to being cooked I added about 1 1/2 cups of ricotta cheese to my pasta sauce and made sure to stir well.  I did a quick taste to see if the sauce needed more flavor, and it did, so I added a touch more sea salt, garlic and fresh ground black pepper.

When my pasta was cooked to our liking I drained it, added The Other Half Pasta Sauce and made sure to coat/combine it well.  Our supper was on 🙂  Hope you enjoy as much as we did.

Leave a Reply

