Not-Your-Usual Coffee Cake

Standard

In December of last year I cut caffeine out of my daily routine…all caffeine.  Yes, this was torture and I do feel like a crazy person for doing it.  It only took about a week and I no longer missed the caffeine, but I sure did miss the coffee as it is a flavor that I have loved since childhood (nips were one of my favorite candies).  In my need to have the coffee flavor I so longed for I purchased some decaf instant coffee, not great but does the job (it does contain a tiny amount of caffeine, but considering that I have about a cup a week I still consider myself caffiene free).  With the instant coffee and the amount of time I spend experimenting with different recipes in the kitchen I decided that they needed to go hand in hand.  I have posted a couple of recipes that were cookies that had instant coffee in them, but last night cake was in the craving-zone, so here is the recipe I came up with…wasn’t 100% sure if I liked it when I tried the cake warm, but today when it was nice and cool the coffee flavor was fantastic and I LOVED it…hope you do too.

Not-Your-Usual Coffee Cake

2 eggs

1/3 cup ricotta cheese

3 tbsp olive oil

1/3 cup honey

1/4 cup organic sugar

3 tbsp instant coffee

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp sea salt

1 tsp vanilla

3/4 cup unbleached white wheat flour

Combine in the order listed. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.  Place cake mixture in 9×9 prepared cake pan (I used a glass one).  Bake at 350 degrees for 22-24 minutes.  Cake is wonderful, moist and full of coffee flavor…makes me smile just thinking about it, plus makes me want to go and sneak another little piece 😉

Leave a Reply

