Easy “Cheesy” Cauliflower

Standard

Image

Today for lunch I was craving cauliflower and all we had was a frozen bag of it.  This made my wheels start turning…not very fast, but I did come up with a plan.  I took the frozen bag of cauliflower and emptied it into a large bowl and poured hot water over it.  A couple of minutes later I drained all of the water and tried to make sure the cauliflower was pretty dry.  I then put the cauliflower back in the bowl, drizzled it with EVOO (probably about 1 tablespoon all together) and then added some flavor. I then added 1 teaspoon sea salt, 1/2 tsp fresh ground black pepper and 1 teaspoon ground garlic (these are my best guesses on the amounts as I did not measure, but I would recommend doing it to flavor and everyone has different taste buds).  I stirred everything together and then added about 3 tablespoons of nutritional yeast…and stirred some more making sure I had a nice even coverage of flavor on the cauliflower.  I then put the cauliflower on a flat baking pan and put it in my oven which was pre-heated to 375 degrees.  Due to being hungry I only baked for about 12 minutes, but would say that you could bake anywhere from 12-17 minutes, depending on the amount of “roasty-ness” you want.  This was a wonderful, healthy, “cheesy” cauliflower side dish that our family will be having again (many more times!).  Enjoy 🙂

P.S.

If you want to kick the recipe up a notch or two a touch of cayenne would be wonderful (we will be doing this next time I make “cheesy” cauliflower).

Leave a Reply

