Leo–4 Days Post Surgery

Standard
Leo's surgery was on Friday and it is now Tuesday...4 days post surgery and everything is looking great.

Leo’s surgery was on Friday and it is now Tuesday…4 days post surgery and everything is looking great.

You can see the suture than came untied yesterday and that one other is getting a little loose.

You can see the suture than came untied yesterday and that one other is getting a little loose.

You can see that the swelling in his cheek is gone and some of the eye area swelling is going down.

You can see that the swelling in his cheek is gone and some of the eye area swelling is going down.

There is of course still swelling and bruising, but both are looking better.

There is of course still swelling and bruising, but both are looking better.

At this point Leo was not very impressed with me taking pictures.

At this point Leo was not very impressed with me taking pictures.

So, Leo gave me the Stink Eye.

So, Leo gave me the Stink Eye.

Leo's sutures are scheduled to be removed on the 16th.  He has had no leakage from the eye and it appears to be healing well.

Leo’s sutures are scheduled to be removed on the 16th. He has had no leakage from the eye and it appears to be healing well.

Leo just wants to be able to run and play (he is looking out the window).

Leo just wants to be able to run and play (he is looking out the window).

4 responses »

  1. My Boston Terrier is about to undergo the same procedure on Tuesday. Your blog has been very helpful as I am somewhat hesitant about the surgery. Thanks for sharing your story.

    • You are so welcome! I know that prior to Leo’s surgery I searched and searched for information and there were a lot of technical sites, but I wanted a day-by-day what should I expect site and could not find one….so I decided that sharing Leo’s story and daily progress would be a good thing and I hoped that it would help other families going through the same stressful situation. I am so happy that Leo’s story has been able to help you and Rocky(?). How old is your Boston?

      • My girl has has had a ulcer for about 2 years. Looking at pics and obviously in last 2 weeks is worse.
        Last week I heard her Yelp twice. Rubbed her eye on purpose or by accident she won’t say.
        Next day at Vet, given ABX drops and atropine drops and oral pain meds which I did not give.
        Also the awful collar.
        I’m gone 10 hrs during day and local high schooler walks her. I can’t leave her with that collar. I’ve seen little improvement in 5 days.
        Even before I looked around I knew the best is enucleation. This will never heal and will always cause her discomfort.
        OMG.
        Thanks for pics of Leo
        She looks like him
        She is so perfect, my girl Zoey
        I love her so.
        She’s 11.
        And she loves me to the moon and back and I her……

      • Did they send her home in one of those horrible rigid collars or in one of the nice soft Elizabethan collars? Sounds like a horrible hard plastic one. Leo was sent home in a nice protective collar that was soft, so it made it pretty easy and comfortable for him to sleep in and rather than going out in front of him it was just a flat circle around his neck which meant he was still able to access water and food with his little flat face.

Leave a Reply

